39 comments

  • CelldwellerX

    Is it really possible to use blessings on other players who are not in the same location as the casting character? I'm just curious, it seems a bit weird compared to normal PnP D&D.

    Reply
  • rahdo

    yup, the conceit is that i'm literally praying to the god of (whatever) to help you with your task on the other side of town, and the god hears my prayer and helps you out.

    at least, i assume that's the conceit ๐Ÿ™‚ it's definitely not casting a spell, it's asking for a blessing of (whatever god it might be)

    Reply
  • harrmeg

    After losing to the sneak, shouldn't the card be shuffled into the location deck instead of going to the box?

    Great playthrough, we want more Jen!!

    Reply
  • rahdo

    oops, forgot! note added that we should have gotten a blessing back! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • rahdo

    yes, yes he should. aaargh! so many mistakes, will add a note! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • Scott Smart

    Jen made the right call not trying to Temp close the Cathedral on the 1st turn. Honestly, since the 1st location should have been permanently closed after defeating the villain, not Permanently closing it this time is a good call too. Wait until you can banish a BotG's and explore more. You have time with only 2 (should be 2) other locations.

    Reply
  • Scott Smart

    *Cough* Nice to avoid the Pit Trap around the 19:30 mark with d12's instead of the d8's you were supposed to roll. Oh, and you'll never want to banish Father Zanthus. He's a Cure spell you have to bury to use or recharge to add d4 to a divine check which helps recharge checks a bunch.

    Reply
  • Bryant Smith

    Thanks for the video! Just to help point out the errors, on detect magic, I believe it says you immediately encounter the card if it has the magic trait (meaning perform a check), not automatically acquire it.

    Reply
  • rahdo

    yeah, that's it! it was all strategy! that's the ticket! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • rahdo

    correct! good point, note added ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • rahdo

    hehe, these crazy dice all look the same to me! ๐Ÿ™‚

    (note added)

    Reply
  • dkyzar

    Glad to see I'm not the only one to forget to use Harsk's ability to examine the top card of the location at the end of my turn. And I'm not even doing an instructional video at the time!

    Reply
  • dkyzar

    Also, let Jen know that if she has more than one animal, she can roll more than one d4, and they help with ANY check. Meaning recharges as well. And since its a different check than combat, can do more than one check per turn. Druid is cool.

    Reply
  • Gabriel Conlledo

    I'm having a really good time with this game; but I find it completely easy. I love the looting part of it, that battle ling with dice and since I play solo the leveling up to eventually aid another character. I wish it was a littler harder… Although I found myself an ally that allows me to summon the demon villain that comes with the game!!!

    Reply
  • Raine OShae

    damn, Tsuto got vaporized horribly xD

    Reply
  • bensrpgpile

    In your Sneak encounter, you should have taken 3 damage (10 combat – roll of 7) and discard all three of your cards. And the sneak should have been shuffled back into that location desk since he was not defeated.

    Reply
  • bensrpgpile

    She could have played that cure spell rather than just discarding it

    Reply
  • Tom

    Never, never, never voluntarily discard a card in this game without some sort of return and if the odds are against or you feel you're going to roll ones ALWAYS use any rechargeable cards. I'd even consider using a discard ability if the odds were significantly against or I just felt I had bad luck. Better to lose 1 card then more. You just always have to remember that those cards are literally your life blood. Not criticism, just many games and mistakes worth of experience talking.

    Reply
  • rahdo

    is that right? i think the rules imply that you can only use a given power once when doing a check, so jen can only use her 'animal helper' once per check, regardless of how many she's got on hand?

    Reply
  • rahdo

    yup, i realized that later and have added a note! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • rahdo

    omg you're right! how dumb was i! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • rahdo

    yup, that was a dumb move… note added ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • dkyzar

    Yeah, you are correct. I thought I read on BGG someone saying that you can use more than one animal for 1d4, but I don't think that's right. My mistake.

    Reply
  • bensrpgpile

    The vids were super entertaining. I hope you do more Pathfinder Adventure Card Game stuff. Nice job.

    Reply
  • Chloe Dodge

    Say I was a fighter and Ran across a spell in the town square. Assuming I acquire it… Does that mean I could use the spell? even though I am obviouslya fighter with no magical aptitude?

    Reply
  • rahdo

    yup. the conceit, i think, is that you've basically found a magical scroll. anyone can read the scroll and cast the spell, but then the scroll disappears in a puff of smoke or something (i.e. it's discarded). but if you have the right magical mastery (divine or arcane), you've memorized the spell and so can cast it again in the future (it gets discarded instead of destroyed) ๐Ÿ™‚ something like that

    Reply
  • Chloe Dodge

    Awesome. I so played that wrong my first time! Thank you๏ปฟ so much for your video. It basically taught me how to play. I tried to read the rules and I was getting frustrated and confused.

    Reply
  • bwsutube

    Great video, shame you didnt record it all i wouldnt have minded watching all the vids, after the first few turns it would have sped up a little as you would not have to go into detail about every play just what to check and what you are rolling.

    @ dkyzar "Also, let Jen know that if she has more than one animal, she can roll more than one d4,"
    This is not correct on a check each PLAYER can only use 1 of each TYPE of card (TYPE – item, ally, weapon etc) same as you cant use two weapons in a check – see that got cleared up further down the comments

    Jen definitely needs to use her cures more, they are invaluable to get your good cards and BotG back out of the discard pile. Playing them often means you can keep your discard pile small increasing your chances of getting the card you want out of the discard and any BotG you get back you know are going to roll around to be able to explore again, specially if she has two cures rotating in her deck. The trade off is how good is your check to recharge the spell rather than discarding. According to the rules a cure spell can be used at any time even on another characters go, there is no limit to how many spells you use during a turn just the, one card of type SPELL on A check.ย  (Im a little bias as i play as Kyra a lot and she has an innate cure ability that makes it even easier to keep the cards rolling out of the discard, I very rarely loose my good cards and i get lots of extra exploring done, plus cures for other party members) .

    Reply
  • Nathaniel Cox

    So, kind of off subject but where did you get that awesome table?

    Reply
  • BoNeZ

    I may pick this game up, i brought LOTR LCG and few expansions but man its too hard to be fun.

    Reply
  • Gamer Hudson

    I got Righteous base set and the 2nd adventure today!

    Reply
  • Ken Sporen

    I loved it where she said "I want to play another round" you are like…AAAAAAAAAAAARGH SHUT IT DOWN ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love the way how you explain the game, makes me gonna buy it !

    Reply
  • Veryghoster

    I think you should not blame Jen that she don't close the location because I think it's a co op game and if no decision the one who on that's turn will be the final decision. That's not a good thing to do and I do not want to see when you play co op games. BTW all of that it's only my opinion.

    Reply
  • Static Klingon

    Loved the Akira reference thrown in there. lol TETSUO!

    Reply
  • Abel Neto

    At 22:00, wouldn't she have to be in the same location as you to cast that spell?

    Reply
  • Jordan Dyksley

    would you recommend this for a single player game?

    Reply
  • Yan Hey

    A bit late to the game, but at 18:55, you correctly say you are going to roll a d8+1 for the dexterity check, but actually grab a d12. Not that you'd likely have fallen into the pit with 3d8+1. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  • M Balazs

    12:26 you should not discard that card ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  • Daniel Damasceno

    Hi, very good series of videos, I am beginner on Pathfinder and probaly I will join on this game in next months. One doubt you character the dwarf have special feature to view next card on the place, so inthis case you dont need spend cards to do the same.. regards

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *